Chanel Eye Shadow, Blush, and Powder Review

100_1438

First things first: I’m sorry for being so MIA lately! I accepted an offer for a new job and I wanted to really make sure I wrapped up all of my projects at my old job before leaving. The past two weeks have been insane, but luckily I have given myself a teeny little break before I start my new position 🙂

As a little reward to myself, I bought a couple of Chanel goodies! I purchased a blush, powder, and eye shadow quad – clearly my shadow obsession has not died down in the least. Let me tell you, when you order something from Chanel they go all out with the packaging. The box everything came in? Sitting on my desk right now. It’s so pretty!

100_1436

Even the tissue paper they use makes me feel fancy! If you’re thinking about buying a thing or two from Chanel I highly suggest doing so on their website, especially since shipping is free when you spend $50 (not that hard when their blushes are $43 a pop) and you get two free samples.

100_1443

I picked up the Les 4 Ombres in Tisse Rivoli, and it is absolutely stunning in the pan. It even looks glamorous and chic despite my grubby applicators! However, performance wise this was a bit of a disappointment. The colors are exactly what I would go for and the texture is so dreamy, but they just don’t adhere to my lids very well and fade easily. The only way I can get them to stick around is by using a primer AND a Laura Mercier Caviar Stick – which is like straight cement on my eyelid. I’ve also noticed that using the sponge applicators is the best way to get decent color payoff. If I’m using these incorrectly someone help me, I want to love this!

100_1439

Next up is a Joue Contraste blush in Emotion. I was torn between this and Angelique, but I have a few pinky blushes like Angelique so I decided to try something new. I adore this color! It’s like a mix between a mauve, plum, and deep pink. It’s something I’ll wear year-round, but I can see this being perfect for Fall and Winter. Application can be slightly patchy if you’re oily, but it’s nothing a good brush can’t handle.

100_1445

100_1448

Oooh yeah, my favorite product! This is the Les Beige Healthy Glow Sheer Color in No. 30. I kept going back and forth between number 20 and 30, but ultimately grabbed the darker color because I figured if it was too dark I could use it as a bronzer. Luckily it worked out and this is my newest setting powder! The word “sheer” definitely fits this product because it doesn’t leave you with a ton of color, but it does give a little something extra. I can see a teeny bit of sparkle or sheen in the pan, but it definitely doesn’t translate on the skin. It’s just a solid product that brings your whole look together – and it looks uber fancy!

All in all I don’t regret splurging, even if I wasn’t over the moon about everything I got. I’m still going to work with that eye shadow palette because the colors are just so stunning! I’m very appreciative and fortunate to have a new position to look forward to, and I will be better about posting! I currently have a new haul in the works so be on the lookout for that! It’ll include my first personal MAC palette, a new fragrance, and other goodies!

8 thoughts on “Chanel Eye Shadow, Blush, and Powder Review

  1. It really is such a luxurious shopping experience. I had the same experience with the baked eyeshadows… I’m used to my uber soft ones. Huimin purchased the Tisse (same as mine) and said that she has the best luck with pigmentation when she applies it with her fingers.
    Congratulations on the new job!! I hope everything is going well :o)

      • I hadn’t thought of it either, LOL. The good thing about these particular baked shadows is they seem to stay put for a long time. I’m still trying to figure out why CHANEL decided to go with baked ones rather than the more popular buttery formulations. It must be for specific reasons. Interesting, huh?

      • They do stay a while and they have such a gorgeous sheen to them! I was a little hesitant at first since baked shadows have a thin consistency, but I’m still glad I got them. If Chanel ever does reformulate them, I’m totally going to try them out!!

Leave a Reply

