NARS Dual Intensity Palette

100_1319

View outside

My house is in the middle of a blizzard, making this the perfect time for a review! Today I’m talking about the newly released NARS Dual Intensity palette.

100_1321

100_1327

I apologize in advance for the swatches – I have no idea what I’m doing and my camera is old. The palette contains 8 shadows that can be used wet and dry, housed in a mirrored case. I personally think the packaging is really sleek and cool; the parts that suck are the finger prints and scratches it accumulates. A small synthetic brush is also included, which is solid since synthetic bristles work better with wet formulas. To be completely honest, I rarely use these shades wet because they’re so pigmented and blend-able when they’re dry.

The colors are listed from top row to bottom:

100_1338 Dry Swatches

100_1343

Wet Swatches

Europa: A pink and peach satin duo-chrome. This is a fantastic base color or inner corner highlight since it has that extra something.

Himalia: A beige metallic shade. This is hands down my favorite shade of this palette! You could wear this alone all over the lid or easily smoke it out.

Ursa Major: A cool toned dark brown satin. This is the only shade in the palette that is not in the permanent range, and quite frankly I’m not crazy about it. It’s a fine shadow and it does what it’s supposed to, but I feel like I could easily find a cheaper dupe for this.

Subra: A blackened cranberry satin. This shade is so interesting! I love cranberry anything – drinks, food, clothes, scents, and shadows. I typically use this color in the outer v to create a multi-dimensional smokey eye.

100_1341 Dry Swatches

100_1355

Wet Swatches

Andromeda: A white and pink satin duo-chrome. This is the brow bone highlight version of Europa; It has the same elements but just a different base color.

Lysithea: A straight-up silver metallic. It’s so metallic, and should be a standard for going-out looks.

Giove: A black satin base with navy somehow mixed in there. Be warned, this is not just a run of the mill blue shadow! It’s gorgeous and would be killer as a liner or used to smoke out a look.

Sycorax: A satin black. Blacks can sometimes be boring, but because it’s a satin and so well made it just pulls a look together.

100_1350

All in all, I think this palette is a great investment. The formula of these is incredible and the color payoff, dry or wet, is amazing. The blue and cranberry colors keep this from being another typical neutrals palette (even though I love those!), but it’s still wearable for an office environment. One thing: who the hell came up with these names?! Thank God I just have to type them out and not pronounce them…

The color selection leans more cool in my opinion, and the blue and dark cranberry colors are welcome additions in my book.

6 thoughts on “NARS Dual Intensity Palette

  1. Heck yes it’s a great time for a review, especially of this palette! I’ve been eyeing this palette since picking up two of the singles. Aren’t these fantastic?! Thanks for sharing :o)

    • It’s so pretty!! It’s expensive but if you don’t already have any of the colors in the palette it’s a great way to try them and not spend over $100. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I have been debating back and forth buying this and I think I need it lol. Also did you check your twitter? I sent you a Dm, it was about Zoeva brushes so nothing important lolol. Stay warm in Chicago! xoxoxo Janet

Leave a Reply

