Used and Abused Products of 2014

100_1284

This is going to be one long post, so I’m going to try and keep the intro short! The title says it all and this is my most used and abused products of the year. Here we go!

First off, foundation. This year I have been using bareMinerals Matte Foundation Broad Spectrum SPF15 in the summer and Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24 hr in the winter. I really love the way bareMinerals looks on my skin, and in the summer I really stay away from liquid or cream foundations since they just slide off my face. Only drawback is this can really clog my pores and cause breakouts if I don’t clean my brushes constantly. The Lancome foundation fits my skintone perfectly (I’m 220 for reference) and it does stay all day. It’s not too heavy and doesn’t cling to dry patches; excellent for fall/winter.

My favorite blushes of 2014 didn’t come into play until later this year. Benefit’s Bella Bamba blush is absolutely perfect for my complexion and stays on forever. It’s similar to Nars’ Orgasm, but a little more pink and better pigmentation in my opinion. Nars Almeria is another blush love that is part of the holiday Laced with Edge range, so it is limited edition. It’s more of a muted dusty rose-red color that was gorgeous this fall and also stays around for ages.

My highlighting favorite has been Incandescent Light from the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette. It creates such a stunning glow that can be blended out for daytime or built up for the night.

Eye shadow is one of the hardest things for me to pin down makeup-wise; it’s my absolute favorite thing to buy! I started off Spring and Summer with the Dior Earth Reflection palette with its soft and buttery bronze shades that just always. look. incredible. Fall and Winter have gone completely to the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette. This was the surprise of the century to me since I am by no means a pink person, but this palette’s combination of rose hued taupes and pinks have really wedged a place in my heart.

Eye liner is never that thrilling to me, but the Essence Gel Eyeliner in Midnight in Paris 1 really impressed me. It’s incredibly black, smooth, and long lasting and all for $3.99 at Ulta.

My brow routine is pretty standard; I just use an Offra brow pencil I got in an Ipsy bag and a cheap-o mascara wand for Sephora. You know, the ones out on display by the makeup removers intended to test the products? Yeah I swiped 2 of those and use them to comb my massive brows.

Dior Iconic Overcurl Mascara and Maybelline the Rocket claim the best mascara spots for me this year. While I only got the Dior Mascara as a 100 point bonus at Sephora ($28.50 for a mascara is insane), the sample size really brought my lashes to life. Even the tiny tube lasted for about 2 months which is pretty wonderful to me. More realistically, the Maybelline the Rocket mascara is one of my most re-purchased items of this year. It volumizes, lengthens, and stays put for $5.99 at Target – day. made.

I have absolutely horrendous undereye circles that are dark and sunken in, so concealer is paramount. I haven’t found “the one” just yet, but Bobbi Brown’s Corrector has been a big help; the coverage and consistency help cancel out the blue bags. However, the best concealer find this year goes to the Hard Candy Glamoflauge. Beware this stuff is thick and very opaque, but it’s the best I’ve found so far. AND it’s only $6 at Walmart. The quest for the perfect concealer continues…

Finally (Whew!) my favorite lip products of the year are: Nars Audacious lipstick in Fanny, Nivea Lip Butter in Vanilla and Macadamia Kiss, and any Bite Beauty lip product. Nars really killed it this year in my opinion and this lipstick is darling. The deep berry color is dark but not too vampy, and non-drying. Bite Beauty products are my weakness since they have incredible pigmentation and extremely creamy formulas. But my absolute most loved product, the Nivea Lip Butter in Vanilla and Macadamia Kiss, has been in my beauty rotation just about all year. It’s so hydrating and smooth, I can’t get enough of it! Plus, it smells exactly like Cadbury Cream Eggs – mmm…

What were some of your favorites this year?

Leave a Reply

