DermaBlend and Viral Marketing Campaigns

I’ve been a bad bad blogger, and for that I am sorry. Excuses are bad and I try not to have too many of them, but April was a mess from school and two weeks ago I graduated from college (yaaaaay!). So here I am, unemployed (booo…) with a ton of time on my hands while waiting to hear back from various job opportunities. So in an effort to be productive, I’m getting back into this writing thing! I have bought a bunch of makeup and beauty products that I will review, but for now I figured I’d switch things up a little.

Dermablend is a cosmetics company that specializes in foundations, powders, and concealers for many skin tones. The company may sound a little rudimentary since other cosmetic items like lipsticks and eye shadows are not offered, but don’t underestimate the power of a solid foundation. About a month ago I saw a YouTube video for Dermablend, and figured it would be a paid sponsorship type deal video with a vlogger where they yap on and on about how wonderful this product is. What I saw was much different and 100% more effective.

This advertisement is genius for a few reasons:

1) the product is front and center

2) this person is an actual customer(as far as I can tell)

3) it solves problems that people face(other ads show a man covered with tattoos)

4) it invites potential consumers to participate and interact with the featured models

5) it shows a demonstration of the product and how it is used

In all honesty, I ran out to my local Ulta and grabbed one of the foundations a week after seeing this commercial. If this foundation can cover that model’s imperfections, it sure as hell can cover my sunspots! This advertisement is an excellent example of why social media and viral video campaigns are so important. Although it might be tough to gain a substantial amount of followers at first, social media campaigns are extremely cheap and reach a very wide audience. Offering freebies or deals through “re-tweets” and “likes” are considerably cheaper than radio or television ads, and make a lot more sense since just about everyone has a smartphone now. Viral YouTube videos are important for similar reasons, but they offer a little more wiggle room. For example, I check YouTube every single day to check in with my favorite beauty vloggers. The “recommended” section of the YouTube homepage shows me videos that might grab my interest, one of which was this video. Now the target audience is specifically singled out and organizations have more time to explain and show the product. However, a major drawback is holding the audience’s interest since people have a short attention span that covers only a few seconds.

All in all I think this advertisement did an excellent job of tugging at my heartstrings and persuading me to purchase a pretty great product.

2 thoughts on “DermaBlend and Viral Marketing Campaigns

  1. Yes iam now interested to try this brand. I saw it many times but chose not to pick it up because I just didn’t think it was for me. I thought it would be cakey or a pain to work with

    • This is definitely a medium to full coverage foundation but it’s not too hard to work with! It comes with a couple of wedge sponges, but personally I’m a fan of using a foundation brush or my fingers. I haven’t given in and purchased a beauty blender yet, but I imagine that would work well too.

Leave a Reply

